Streaming Video Blog

Get product updates, tips for video, news on industry
events and discover trends about live streaming,
video production and video on-demand.

Weekly Events Calendar 10/17

Red Bull Sound Space at KROQ with Coldplay
Tues. 10/18 at 7:30a PT/11:30a ET
Join KROQ’s Kevin & Bean from the Kevin & Bean Morning Show as they host a live “breakfast” and performance with Coldplay! West Coasters, we promise this one will be worth waking up for! Be sure to RSVP so you get an alert when they go live! [clear here]

Ocean Spray “Ask Ming” Live Q&A
Tues. 10/18 at 9:30a PT/12:30p ET
What’s a cranberry bog doing in NYC? Chef Ming Tsai will answer user-submitted questions from inside the cranberry-tastic Ocean Spray pop-up about anything from his recipe recommendations to cooking tips. You can submit questions with #askMing! [clear here]


Justin Bieber Chat & Video Premiere
Tues. 10/18 at 4:54p PT/7:54p ET
I smile, you smile…because The Biebs is coming back to Ustream! After a too-long hiatus (you can catch up on his past Ustreams here) he’s going live with MTV to chat with fans and debut the video for his new song, Mistletoe. [clear here]

Trey Songz Chat
Tues. 10/18 at 6p PT/9p ET
Trey Songz is going live again to chat with fans about his upcoming mixtape, “Anticipation II.” Be sure to join his crowd (it’s still the biggest on Ustream) so that you get alerts every time Mr. Steal Yo Girl goes live! [clear here]

Fair Trade USA: Every Meal Matters
Wed. 10/19 at 1p PT/4p ET
Join Fair Trade USA for a special live show that explains why every purchase and every meal matters. When you buy Fair Trade Certified goods you are making a choice that means quality products, improved lives and environmental protection. Learn more during the live show! [clear here]

TLA: Digital Video: Where it’s Heading and How it Will Change the Online Space
Wed. 10/19 4p PT/7p ET
The Learning Annex presents a class that will help businesses and individuals understand and predict the role of digital video in the marketing and advertising world. From sizzle reels to live streaming, digital video has profoundly changed the online landscape, and will continue to do so! [clear here]

Portugal. The Man Lomography Event
Wed. 10/19 at 4:30p PT/7:30p ET
The band Portugal. The Man will be going live from the Lomography gallery to announce the winner of their Nature competition! They asked fans to capture images that convey the bounty and beauty of nature using Lomography cameras, and will be unveiling the winners in a live broadcast! [clear here]

Jersey Shore Cast Chat
Thurs. 10/20 at 9p PT/12a ET
It’s GTL time on Ustream! (That’s gym, tanning, laundry for the uninitiated). The entire cast of The Jersey Shore will be live for a Q&A to talk about Italy, the upcoming season in Seaside, and their plans for the future (i.e. energy drink endorsements…right?) [clear here]

Potted Plant Owl
24/7 Stream
Our Potted Plant owlets have hatched! You may remember hearing their story from the previous blog post here, but in a nutshell these cute little guys have been pushed out of their natural habitat due to building development, and have taken up residence in a potted plant in someone’s backyard! Be sure to tune in to see all their developmental milestones–including the fledge! [clear here]


Weekly Events Calendar 10/10

——– Monday, October 10 ——–

Kid Ink:  “Wheels Up” Listening Release Party
5:00p PT/8:00p ET
Kid Ink is taking his release party to Ustream. His new mixtape, “Wheels Up,” will be played in its entirety for fans during the broadcast. So tune in and check it out! [clear here]

Trey Songz Live
6:00p PT/9:00p ET
Trey Songz is going live again tonight to get fans hyped up about his upcoming mixtape, “Anticipation II” on 11/1/11. Since it’s around dinner time (if you’re on the west coast) let’s call it “dinner with Trey.” If you’ve seen his broadcasts before, you know he’ll probably be eating. [clear here]
——– Tuesday, October 11 ——–

Christina Perri LIVE from London
11a PT/2p ET
Singer/songwriter Christina Perri is in London right now, and she’ll be streaming her show at Monto Water Rats for fans worldwide to see and hear her sweet melodic voice! [clear here]
Thom Yorke Spinning on Boiler Room TV
12p PT/3p ET
Tuesday it’s time for a Radiohead takeover on Boilerroom TV. Thom Yorke will be spinning, along with Jamie XX, Caribou, Lone, and Illum Sphere. [clear here]
Evanescence Live with Billboard
1p PT/4p ET
Billboard presents a live Q&A with Evanescence frontwoman Amy Lee. Fans will get a chance to have their voices heard by asking questions in the social stream, so be sure to tune in! [clear here]
New Stage with Mike “The Situation” Sorrentino
5p PT/8p ET
Because the NIH has still failed to classify his mere existence as a health hazard, Mike “The Situation” Sorrentino is starring in a new webseries called New Stage. Meant to be a comedic take on shows like So You Think You Can Dance, The Situation plays a hip hop star on the judges panel. Sound like a recipe for hilarity? We think so. [clear here]
——– Wednesday October 12 ——–

Ask Dr. Drew
10:30a PT/1:30p ET
TV’s favorite board certified physician is taking his advice game to Ustream, where he’ll be talking about his new show, Lifechangers. Dr. Drew aims to give viewers the chance to live their best lives by transforming the way they look at health, happiness, and fitness. The Doctor is in! Now is your chance to ask a question. What will it be? [clear here]
Dadlabs Chat
12p PT/3p ET
The Dads at Dadlabs are back this week with an all-new show, and their usual advice for dads on parenting, fatherhood, children, and coping with wives and mothers. Tune in as the Dads tackle the issues of today: from breast feeding in public to head lice to poop in the tub. [clear here]

Weird Al Interview with Billboard

1p PT/4p ET
It’s been an awfully long while since Weird Al graced Ustreamland with his live presence (see this video here), but we’re so excited to have him back this Wednesday for a Q&A with Billboard from their offices! If you could ask the master of song parody anything, what would it be? [clear here]
Mac Miller on MTV
8p PT/11p ET
Rap’s rising star Mac Miller is going live with MTV this week. Why? We have no idea! So why don’t you tune in and find out! [clear here]
——– Friday, October 14 ——–

MTV NY Comic Con Live
All Day
MTV is bringing you coverage from New York’s Comic Con! That means all of the costumes, gamers, fans, and celebrities will be accessible from wherever you are in the world–so you can get a first peek at all the latest developments and news from the world’s biggest popular culture convention. [clear here]
——– Saturday, October 15 ——–

OneThroughLove Premiere and Live Global Dialogue
12p PT/3p ET
OneThroughLove is a film that depicts the growing popularity of the life and writings of Jalaluddin Rumi and Shams of Tabriz in the West. Running at the Mill Valley International Film Festival, the stream will serve as a “live global dialogue” to discuss the many ways of applying the ancient teachings to modern day life. [clear here]
——– Sunday, October 16 ——–

Dalai Lama: Mind & Life XXIII: Ecology, Ethics, Interdependence
8:30a PT/11:30a ET
His Holiness the Dalai Lama will be engaging in a live dialogue from Dharamsala, India with activists and ecological scientists to discuss the intersection of individual choices with environmental consequences. [clear here]

Eckhart Tolle Live TV Meditation
1p PT/4p ET
Spiritual leader and guide Eckhart Tolle is leading another live meditation on Ustream this Sunday. His book “The Power of Now” has transformed modern spirituality and is widely regarded as one of the most important books on Spirituality written during our time. [clear here]
American Ballet Theatre Season Preview Guggeheim
3:30p PT/6:30p ET
The American Ballet Theatre is giving a free season preview to Ustream viewers. The venerated ballet company has been wowing audiences since 1937, and is widely regarded as one of the foremost (if not THE foremost) ballet companies of the 20th Century. [clear here]


African Penguin Awareness Day!

It seems like there’s a day dedicated to everything (humiliation, cheese pizza, video games)..so why not dedicate a day to Penguins?! Our friends at the California Academy of Sciences have alerted us that there is indeed such a thing as African Penguin Awareness Day, and it is this Saturday, October 8! What better way to celebrate it than by checking out our very own African Penguins on Ustream! These guys call the Cal Academy home, and spend their days swimming, eating fish, waddling, and being generally adorable.

So go ahead, check it out, and don’t forget to hug a penguin today 😉