Streaming Video Blog

Get product updates, tips for video, news on industry
events and discover trends about live streaming,
video production and video on-demand.

Weekly Events Calendar 1/24

Ashanti Live from the Studio
Monday, January 23 at 4pm PT/7pm ET
Join songstress Ashanti in the studio to celebrate the launch of her new single “The Woman You Love” featuring Busta Rhymes! She’ll be answering your questions, so get ‘em ready! [clear here]

MTV Caged Live Chat
Monday, January 23rd at 7pm PT/10pm ET
Meet the stars of MTV’s new hit show Caged and ask them your questions after the new episode airs. [clear here]

Oscar Nominations Announcement with PopSugar
Tuesday, January 24th at 5:30am PT/8:30am ET
If you’re up bright and early, catch the live Oscar Nominations announcement and see if your favorite films of the year will be honored at this years’ ceremony! [clear here]

Rodrigo y Gabriela Exclusive Live chat
Tuesday, January 24th at 1pm PT/4pm ET
To celebrate the release of their new album ‘Area 52’ Rodgrigo y Gabriela will be hosting the exclusive first play-back of tracks from the album, as well as chatting live from their Studio in Ixtapa, Mexico. [clear here]

Angels and Airwaves in the Red Bull Sound Space at KROQ
Tuesday, January 24th at 3pm PT/6pm ET
Join KROQ at their Sound Space stage for a live performance with the band Angels and Airwaves. [clear here]

Spartacus Live Chat with Cast
Thursday, January 26th at 7pm PT/10pm ET
Spartacus fans, you won’t want to miss this! Tune in for a live web chat with the stars of Spartacus, including Liam McIntyre (Spartacus), Lucy Lawless (Lucretia), Viva Bianca (Ilithyia), Craig Parker (Glaber), and Steven S. DeKnight (Creator).

Washington, D.C. Auto Show
Thursday, January 26th at 9am PT/12pm ET
Join the automotive experts at Autoline Live for live coverage from the D.C. Auto Show! Get a sneak peek at all the car makers’ new offerings for 2013.

 

 

#BarackTalk2012 with the League of Young Voters
Tuesday, January 24th at 4:30pm PT/7:30pm ET
The League of Young Voters will be holding a State of the Union viewing party and panel with the aim of discussing Barack Obama’s current political strategy and the issues that are important to a young generation. Potential voters will be able to register to vote right on the channel page! Don’t miss this special event.

State of the Union Address
Tuesday, January 24th at 6pm PT/9pm ET
President Barack Obama will deliver his third State of the Union Address to the nation on Tuesday, and you’ll be able to see it LIVE on the White House official channel, as well as through our partners at PBS News and CBS News.

Republican Address to the Nation
Tuesday, January 24th at 7pm PT/10pm ET
Immediately following Barack Obama’s State of the union Address, Republican leaders will go live to issue an official response. [clear here]

1 Year Anniversary of Protests in Cairo, Egypt
Tuesday, January 24th
In celebration of the 1 year anniversary of the protests that toppled Mubarak’s rule, a group of citizen journalists will be live on Ustream from the streets of Cairo.

Federal Reserve Board Live Press Event
Wednesday, January 25th at 2:15pm PT/5:15pm ET
Federal Reserve Chairman Ben Bernanke will hold another live press event to bring clarity and transparency to the Federal Reserve Board. He’ll be revealing forecasts for the Federal Funds rate.

MacWorld
Thursday, January 26th – Saturday, January 28th
Dying to see which Apple products will change your life in 2012? Tune in for 3 days of live coverage from the annual MacWorld Expo in San Francisco!


Jewel Birth Watch!

Meet Jewel! She’s black, furry, and pretty sleepy right now. Oh, and you wouldn’t want to mess with those claws! Jewel is a wild black bear residing in a den near Ely, Minnesota, and most importantly, she’s about to be a first-time mom! Thanks to the ingenuity of the researchers at the Wildlife Research Institute, Ustreamers will be able to see the birth live and follow the growth of her cubs over the next few months. Currently there are over 800 people watching her channel and waiting for the big moment, which is expected to come any day now!

Head biologist at the Institute, Lynn Rogers, Ph.D., has spent over 42 years studying wildlife and utilizing everything from airplanes to vehicles to radio-track over 100 bears in the vast forests of northeastern Minnesota. Last year, a bear named Lily used the same den to birth and raise two cubs, and it is expected that Jewel, a first time mom, will also have two cubs.

To follow the exciting, suspenseful birth watch and share in the joys of seeing two bear cubs raised in the wild, stay tuned to Jewel’s channel:
http://www.ustream.tv/jewelblackbear

Read more about Jewel on NPR’s News Blog, “The Two-Way.”
And on the Wildlife Research Institute Site.


Ustream by the Numbers

Infographics time! We just had these printed out for CES, and wanted to take a minute to share them with you! There’s some stuff in here you might not know about Ustream 😉


Ustream’s Guide to CES 2012!

Spread the word, tune in and see industry giants unveil their latest shiny, sleek tech toys. Everything from cameras to computers to TV’s and remote-controlled helicopters will be on display, and you’ll get to hear commentary and interviews with tech writers, bloggers, and celebrities live from the show floor! It all kicks off Monday, January 9th in Las Vegas, so be sure to tune in to see live coverage from the following broadcasters:

TechCrunch
Join TechCrunch staffers on the CES floor starting on Sunday, Jan. 8 at 4pm PT/7pm ET. They’ll be live every day giving updates and sharing demos with viewers. [clear here]

CNET
CNET editors will be live from the show floor starting on Sunday with everything from a “Best of CES” awards show to interviews with celebrities to product reviews! They’ll also be live all day Monday streaming press conferences! For a complete schedule, check their channel page. [clear here]

Leo Laporte/TWiT tv
Leo Laporte and his “This Week in Tech” team will be roaming the show floor all week discussing the latest product launches! [clear here]

Tech Podcast Network

The Tech Podcast Network will bring you live interviews with vendors from the show floor, a “pick of the day,” and tons of interviews with attendees. [clear here]

Sony Press Conference
Monday, January 9 at 5pm PT/8pm ET
Want to get the first look at Sony’s product lineup for 2012 and beyond? Tune in to their official press conference on Monday! [clear here]

Panasonic Press Conference
Panasonic will be broadcasting their official press conference from CES on Monday, Jan. 9 at 3pm PT/6pm ET. Then on January 10th and 11th, be sure to tune in to ask questions to Panasonic experts, celebrities, and media members. [clear here]

The Vergecast
Over the course of CES, the editors at The Verge will transform their operation into a mobile editorial and production studio to cover every development, press conference, and news item coming out of the conference.

Subscribe to updates