Streaming Video Blog

Get product updates, tips for video, news on industry
events and discover trends about live streaming,
video production and video on-demand.

Live Coverage of the Kentucky Derby, Mayweather vs. Cotto, and Other Events for the Week of 4/30

HRTV Coverage of the 138th Kentucky Derby
Tuesday, May 1 – Saturday, May 5
In preparation for the greatest two minutes in sports, go behind-the-scenes with jockeys, trainers, and horses at the fabled Churchill Downs. There’s even a Kentucky Derby pre and post-show LIVE on race day.

PGA Tour: Live from Wells Fargo Championship
Tuesday, May 1 – Wednesday, May 2
See interviews with Rory McIllroy, Phil Mickelson, Hunter Mahan, and others from the Wells Fargo Championship in Charlotte, NC. [clear here]

Mayweather vs. Cotto
Tuesday, May 1 – Friday, May 4
See tons of pre-fight coverage before Saturday’s epic matchup between Floyd “Money” Mayweather and Miguel Cotto. From the fighter grand arrivals on Tuesday to the final weigh-ins on Friday, there will be something going on daily. Check the channel for a full schedule.

LPGA Press Conferences
Wednesday, May 2 – Sunday, May 6
Tune in for live player chats with the leading ladies of Golf! Whether you’re learning golf swing tips from Se Ri Pak, or brushing up on tips from the range with Leta Lindley, you won’t want to miss it! [clear here]

Occupy Wall St. May Day
Tuesday, May 1
The Occupy Wall Street movement is planning a nationwide general strike on “May Day,” that calls for supporters to demonstrate in the streets to press for economic justice and rally against corporations.

Foodies Live
Tuesday, May 1 at 3:30p PT/6:30p ET
FoodiesLive was launched to showcase the talents and creativity of professional chefs, and bring people together from around the globe who are passionate about food. Tune in every week to watch!

Chase Jarvis: The Artist as Entrepreneur with Zoe Keating
Wednesday, May 2 at 11a PT/2p ET
As a classically trained musician turned avant-garde cellist, Zoe Keating has mastered the balancing act between art & commerce. She’ll talk about how other artists can achieve commercial and creative success.

Bing Lounge:
Wednesday, May 2 at 3p PT/6p ET
The Bing Lounge Live is your virtual music listening room. Tune in for awesome live performances this week by Ed Sheeran (Wednesday, May 2) and Imagine Dragons (Friday, May 4)

Potluck Chat with Fans
Wednesday, May 2 at 4p PT/7p ET
Suburban Noize Reconds is holding a fan chat with Potluck to promote the band’s upcoming Underground Rebels Tour. The group also has a brand-new mixtape coming out. Be sure to tune in and ask questions live!

Mike’s Hard Lemonade: Cuatro de Mayo
Friday, May 4 at 9a PT/12p ET
Tune in to see the Mike’s-style mariachi band sing (just about) anything you want them to. Really. You tweet it, they’ll sing it. So be sure to send in your best humblebrag tweets to hear them transformed into the magic of mariachi.

Loveline
M-Th at 10p PT/1a ET
The best love, sex, and dating advice show ever is live on Ustream! Join Dr. Drew and co-hosts Mike and Simone, plus a rotating cast of celebrity guests for the show that “goes there” and dares to discuss the issues facing young people today.

A is for Animal
Test your knowledge of some of Ustream’s most popular animal cams in this weekly series! [clear here]

 


Founder & CEO Brad Hunstable Speaks @ MIT Media Lab

Hello Ustreamers,

Brad Hunstable, Co-Founder and CEO of Ustream, will speak this Friday, April 13th, at the MIT Media Lab in Cambridge, MA.

Brad will join the Co-Founder of Conviva and representatives from VEVO and Viacom as part of the Disruptive Innovation in Media & Entertainment Panel for the MIT Sloan HiTech Conference. The event will be keynoted by Jeffrey Nick, CTO of EMC, and Stephanie Tilenius, VP of Commerce at Google.

If you’re interested in seeing Brad and you’re around Cambridge, you can buy a ticket here! The Media Lab is a great place to visit, where you can see some of the active projects like “Lifelong Kindergarten” or “Opera of the Future” in action.


Bringing Ustream to Facebook Timelines

We’re super excited the be able to announce that we just released a new integration with Facebook Timeline!

Now, you will be able to see what your friends are watching on Facebook, share what you’re watching, and discover great new content on Ustream with friends.

How do you do this? With our easy to use “Ustream Social” feature.

You’ll notice by going to Ustream today that there’s a new Social On/Off switch right at the top. Flip this handy switch on to turn on Ustream Social and reap the benefits.

Now, whenever you watch a channel or video on Ustream, you’ll be able to add it to your Facebook Timeline!  Check it out.

Now, you can see your videos right on your Facebook Timeline.  This is me:

As you can see, I love watching animals, tech, and the US State Department 🙂

Sharing with your Facebook Timeline is always completely optional.  You can choose which videos you want to share, and how often.  Remember, although we help you share, we value your privacy and want to give you as much control as possible.  Hence, you can remove shares from your Facebook Timeline any time.  In addition, you can use Ustream privately any time just by switching off Ustream Social. Plus, Facebook has its own privacy settings where you can set Ustream’s permissions level.

We are super excited about this new integration, and we have some awesome features coming up, so I’m psyched to share those with you soon.  In the meantime, happy sharing!