Streaming Video Blog

Get product updates, tips for video, news on industry
events and discover trends about live streaming,
video production and video on-demand.

This Week in Highlights: Top 5 Moments from NATO Protests

The weekend saw thousands of protesters descend on Chicago for the NATO Summit. If you were watching the action live on Ustream, you saw the many live feeds coming through courtesy of a few brave citizen journalists. These journalists, armed with their streaming mobile phones, entered the fray and were able to capture moments of chaos, terror, and solidarity among the Occupy Protesters who gathered to voice their concerns over NATO policies. Here is a collection of some of the most illuminating, terrifying moments captured over the weekend:

1. Ustream Provides “Instantaneous Accountability” for NATO Protesters
[clear here]

2. Independent Journalists Raided by Police at NATO Summit
[clear here]

3. Tim Pool Recounts being Raided by Police at NATO Summit
[clear here]

4. NATO Protesters Clash with Police
[clear here]

5. Protesters Sing, Cheer as Police Line Retreats


This Week in Highlights – The Top 5 Highlights of the Week!

It has been quite a busy week on Ustream! In case you missed it, here is a run-down of the top 5 Ustream moments this week, in no particular order:

1. Pres. Obama Addresses the Nation from Afghanistan

[clear here]

2. Massive Demonstrations in Moscow

[clear here]

3. Chris Hemsworth and Chris Evans Talk Superheroes

[clear here]

4. Rescuer Saves Baby Eaglet in 75ft High Nest

[clear here]

5. Adam Sandler and Andy Samberg sing NKOTB


London 2012 Olympic Torch Relay

Whether you’re a gymnastics or a javelin fan, kick off the summer games with us by tuning in for the official Olympic Torch Lighting Ceremony. Starting in Olympia, Greece, the relay will traverse some 8,000 miles of the UK before ending its journey in London. Want to watch it LIVE? Tune in beginning at 12:00 p.m. PT/3:00pm ET on Thursday, May 10 right here.


Weekly Events Calendar 5/7

Gold Derby
Monday, 5/7 at 12p PT/3p ET
Join special guests Kiefer Sutherland (“Touch” on Fox) and Kit Harington (“Game of Thrones” on HBO) for this weeks’ live episode! Both stars will dish with Gold Derby’s Tom O’Neil on their shows, characters, the Emmys race, and more.

Ricki Lake’s ‘More Business of Being Born’
Monday, 5/7 at 5p PT/8p ET
Just in time for Mother’s Day, Ricki Lake returns to Ustream to chat live about her documentary, “More Business of Being Born.” [clear here]

NBC’s ‘The Voice’ Aftershow
Monday, 5/7 at 7p PT/10p ET
Host Christina Milian sticks around for The Voice Aftershow to talk about all the performances and buzz surrounding the new episode! It’s down to the wire with only 4 contestants left, so be sure to tune in and see what happens!

Silversun Pickups on KROQ Soundspace
Tuesday, 5/8 at 11:30a PT/2:30p ET
Indie-rock band the Silversun Pickups will be following up their performance at the KROQ Weenie Roast with an intimate live gig at the KROQ Soundspace. The band’s new album, ‘Neck of the Woods’ comes out the same day.

Nick Jonas and Rose Hemingway Live Q&A
Tuesday, 5/8 at 1p PT/4p ET
Nick Jonas has parlayed his Broadway performance in “How to Succeed in Business Without Really Trying” into a spinoff EP album. He’ll be live with his Broadway castmate Rose Hemingway to talk about the show and the album. Use the hashtag #NickEP to ask your questions!

Dove Mother’s Day Twitter Party
Wednesday, 5/9 at 5p PT/8p ET
Make Mother’s Day special. Join the DOVE® Chocolate Mother’s Day Twitter Party and share your favorite Mother’s Day memories with your favorite chocolate.

 

Bing Lounge: Death Cab for Cutie
Friday, 5/11 at 4p PT/7p ET
Swoon! Get your lighters ready, because indie rock three-piece Death Cab for Cutie are next up to perform in the Bing Lounge.

 

Asian 5 Nations Rugby: Korea vs. Japan
Friday, 5/11 at 8p PT/11p ET
In what is perhaps the most highly anticipated matchup of the series, Korea will take on Japan in the upcoming Asian 5 Nations Rugby League. PPV tickets are available now for only $9.99. [clear here]

FIM Mitas Czech Republic Speedway GP
Saturday, 5/12 at 10a PT/1p ET
Live from Prague, tune in for the Speedway World Championships, where intrepid, daredevil motorcycle racers will compete for the top prize! [clear here]

Island Assault 4: Viloria vs. Romero
Saturday, 5/12 at 6p PT/9p ET
Two of the world’s top flyweights will be in action on Saturday for the Island Assault 4 PPV boxing event. The fight is taking place in Pasig City, Metro Manila, Philippines and is distributed in the US by Integrated Sports.


Just Announced: Justin Bieber Premieres Video for “Boyfriend” LIVE Tomorrow!

Join MTV First tomorrow at 4:50pm PT/7:50pm ET for the LIVE premiere of Justin Bieber’s new music video for “Boyfriend.” After the premiere, Justin will sit down for a live 30 minute Q&A where he’ll be answering questions directly from fans! Now’s your chance to get your marriage proposal in! Tweet @MTVNews with the hashtag #AskBieber. Be sure to tune in and watch live at www.ustream.tv/mtv


This Week in Highlights – #Occupy #MayDay Edition

From New York to Oakland, the world was watching on May 1st, 2012. Thanks to Broadcasters like Tim Pool and Oaktown Pirate, viewers were glued to their seats as activists voiced their concerns and clashed with police. In case you missed it, here are the top 5 #MayDay highlights, in no particular order:

1. Activists Unite for #Occupy #MayDay Protests Across the U.S.


[clear here]
2. NYPD Clashes with #OWS Protesters on #MayDay


[clear here]
3. 
Tom Morello sings “This Land is Your Land” with #OWS on #MayDay


[clear here]
4. Oakland Police Throw Grenades at #Mayday Protesters
 
[clear here]
5. Oakland Police Use Armored Tank against #MayDay Protesters
 

[clear here]
To check out more #Occupy footage, be sure to check out our OWS Superchannel here: http://www.ustream.tv/occupywallstreet

Subscribe to updates